Drama club play – The Litter Bugs

image

During my phase 1b placement, I gave my time to be part of the school’s drama club! It was open to all of key stage two. It was so much fun and I loved building relationships with all of the children from different year groups. As my placement was in year 2, I  mainly only got to spend time with key stage one so this was a fabulous way of engaging with the older children. It was really nice to see a different side to the children than what we see within the school day – some of them were so talented and had AMAZING drama skills. I believe that drama is fundamental way to develop children’s speaking and listening skills in a fun and engaging way. Through communicating with the year 1 and the year 3 teacher, they invited me to join their after school club and as drama is a previous love of mine so I thought ‘why not?’. So I sat down with the teachers and we decided to write our own script. Children then had five weeks to learn their lines and we performed it in front of the whole school and their parents. Children LOVED this as the TA’s had helped to make fancy costumes and props – children really felt the part!

This experience helped develop my own confidence as well as the children’s. It made me realise that it is more than fine to act completely daft. In fact, it is better to act daft because then children will come out of their shell as well. Reflecting further on this, I would really love to try out a classic play. When I was at school, we took part in performances including ‘Grease’ and ‘The Lion King’. Due to my love of classic and Disney films, I would really love to try this out in future! Developing my own after school drama club is something that I will definitely consider within my NQT year!

Teacher Standards links

TS8 – Fulfil wider professional responsibilities and make a positive contribution to the wider life and ethos of the school 

Leave a Reply

