Image
0

Pupil feedback

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-20-31-10

Through reflecting upon how I could get from Good (2) to Outstanding (1), it was clear that the Teachers’ Standards requires teachers to enable time for learners to reflect. However, I think it is equally as important for teachers to also reflect on how they could improve their own practice. Therefore, I decided to create a resource that would benefit both, me and the children in my class. I gave the template (above) out at the end of a lesson, most of the time this would be mathematics as this was the subject I was least confident teaching. This resource enabled me to reflect on what went well and what could be improved next time.  I believe that this resource encouraged good practice as it allowed me to adapt my teaching to meet the needs and preferences of the children in my class. This allowed me to get a grasp of how each individual child learns best. Through using the feedback, this allowed me to develop my teaching style to suit each individual child. However, when doing so, I found it quite tricky to implement the feedback from every single child as one child may prefer to work alone whereas another may prefer to work independently. This was something that had to be considered so instead of using the feedback to inform one individual lesson, I used it to improve all of my teaching across the curriculum. For example, I may use one lesson to target individual work and another to focus on group, collaborative work.

Leave a Reply

