Using Class Dojo to manage behaviour

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 20.53.35

As my final placement was in an all boys school, I really struggled to think of a behaviour management strategy that would really engage them but also work! After getting to know the children, it became clear that they loved all things monster. So, I thought Class Dojo would be an interesting and effective behaviour management strategy to introduce. I set up the point system and explained that the child that had the most Dojo points would receive a trophy that they could take home for the week. It was only £6.00 off Amazon and worked a treat!! I also wouldn’t tell them when they received points and they would either see it on the screen or hear the ‘bleep’ sound! This kept them on their toes and motivated to want to do well. As the school already used house points to manage whole-school behaviour, the boys had an understanding of how this worked. In order to implement both, I made up a rule that if somebody lost dojo points then they would also loose house points (although I didn’t want that to happen and neither did they!). Shortly after implementing it, I discovered it was so so easy and accessible to use but there was also an option to involve parents in their child’s education via text messages and enabling them to access Class Dojo via using a personal password. Personally, I thought this would be a fantastic way to engage parents with their child’s school life, however the class teacher though it would be best to leave it as the parents had very high expectations of their children. Despite this, I think this would work well depending on the school and it is something that I definitely aim to experiment with as an NQT! Although the boys LOVED this strategy and were forever counting up their dojo points, it was very similar to their house point system. If I had more time, I would have loved to have implemented a completely different behaviour strategy but as I was only there for 10 weeks, this would have been a challenge! I will definitely experiment with a wide range of behaviour management strategies as an NQT.

Leave a Reply

