Becoming familiar with the school’s mathematics policy

1 23As Mathematics is the subject that I am least confident in, I considered it important to gain a copy of the school’s Maths handbook. This contains all of the teaching strategies that the school uses to teach all area of maths, such as addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. As these methods vary across the different schools, I think it is important for every teacher to have a handbook to ensure that they are equipped with the correct subject knowledge to teach mathematics effectively. This was extremely beneficial for me as it taught me how to carry out basic operations, which increased my subject knowledge and hence, my confidence. Prior to teaching a Maths topic, I would look through the handbook to ensure that I knew how to teach it correctly and effectively. This is a fundamental way to improve your subject knowledge in Maths. If I am ever Maths lead, I would like to implement a similar resource within my school, not only for trainees but for teachers to occasionally refresh their mathematical knowledge. As this may be timely, it may be an idea for teachers to work collaboratively on this.

Teachers’ Standards Link – 

TS3 – if teaching early mathematics, demonstrate a clear understanding of appropriate teaching strategies.
–  have a secure knowledge of the relevant subject(s) and curriculum areas, foster and maintain pupils’ interest in the subject, and address misunderstandings. 

Leave a Reply

