Dyslexia

  • 1 6Dyslexia is a common learning difficulty that can cause problems with reading, writing and spelling.’
  • It’s a “specific learning difficulty”, which means it causes problems with certain abilities used for learning, such as reading and writing. Unlike a learning disability, intelligence isn’t affected. It’s estimated that up to 1 in every 10 to 20 people in the UK has some degree of dyslexia. Dyslexia is lifelong problem that can present challenges on a daily basis, but support is available to improve reading and writing skills and help those with the problem be successful at school and work.
  • In order to meet the needs of all pupils, it is fundamental that you are aware of how to overcome any barriers to learning. This was evident in my phase 1a practice as I used the training above to support a child who had been diagnosed with Dyslexia. In order to provide further support, I also allowed the child to use yellow paper and I carefully considered the colours of the whiteboard pens. I have learnt that Dyslexia is a common condition so the chances are high that I will have to deal with this in the nearby future. I feel confident enough to address these needs and understand the support that is in place. However, I would like to continue CPD into Dyslexia as I understand that strategies are always changing and being introduced. I would like to gain as much subject knowledge as possible around this area of SEN/D.
Leave a Reply

