Using Read, Write, Inc cards to support a child with Dyslexia

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During my Phase 1B practice, I met up with the SENCo and observed how she used Read, Write, Inc cards to support a child with Dyslexia. Child A was severely Dyslexic and he struggled to read and write. Therefore, every Tuesday, he would attend a 30 minute session with the SENCo with an aim to improve his English skills. This was an extra intervention that was paid for by the child’s parents. I had used Read, Write, Inc in my previous placement to teach year 2 but I had never used the cards so I was really intrigued to see how they worked. After a few observations, I felt confident enough to give it a go myself. I worked alongside the SENCo and used the Read, Write, Inc cards to support Child A. I became familiar with the strategies used within this scheme such as ‘Fred talk’ and ‘special friends’. It was a really beneficial approach to use as Child A had a work book which enabled the SENCo to note down progress which also allowed his parent’s to keep up-to-date with his progress. I consider these cards extremely beneficial for a child with Dyslexia as they provide visual images to support sentence structure. However, using the same resource as what is used in KS1 may be a little undermining for that child and may impact on their self-esteem. Consequently, it may be beneficial to explore a variety of different resources. However, this resource worked particularly well with that specific child so that would be the only implication. I would definitely consider using this scheme in the future to support a child who is Dyslexic. If I become an English Subject Leader, it is definitely something that I would suggest as a whole-school approach when teaching phonics as I have observed the benefits first-hand.

Teachers’ Standards Links –

TS5
TS3 – if teaching early reading, demonstrate a clear understanding of systematic synthetic phonics.
TS2 – demonstrate knowledge and understanding of how pupils learn and how this impacts on teaching

Leave a Reply

